Yellowstone Quarter Three-Coin Set Debuts


The United States Mint on January 5, 2011, released the Yellowstone Quarter Three-Coin Set for a price of $14.95, one dollar higher than the previous issue.

Yellowstone Quarter Three-Coin Set

The set includes three numismatic or collector versions of the second coin released in the America the Beautiful Quarters® Program. Debuting sales figures of 11,115 were reported by the US Mint for their first five days of release.

The Yellowstone Quarter Three-Coin Set features two uncirculated Yellowstone National Park quarters from the US Mint’s facilities in Philadelphia and Denver, and one proof quality quarter from the San Francisco Mint. Although the set debuted in 2011, the coins were last year issues and are 2010-dated.

The Mint places the uncirculated and proof coins within a plastic card that includes information on Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming, quarter design details, and a Certificate of Authenticity.

The quarters were released into circulation on Tuesday, June 1, 2010. The US Mint also began selling them in bags and rolls on the same day. The coin was ceremoniously introduced to the public two days later on the grounds adjacent to Old Faithful, which is featured on the quarter’s reverse.

The US Mint has reported their circulating quarter mintages of 68.4 million, which is the lowest production total of the 2010-dated quarter-dollars. When broken out by Mint facility, the Philadelphia strike is the least produced of any at 33.6 million. The Denver minted coin follows behind the Denver struck Hot Springs quarter.

The Yellowstone Quarter Three-Coin Set debut sales of 11,115 is stronger than the previous Hot Springs release which opened at 10,684 during its first five days.

Yellowstone has the distinction of being named as the nation’s first national park. The America the Beautiful Quarters Program will honor 56 national parks and national sites at a rate of five each until 2021. Hot Springs was actually the first issue in the program. While it was not the first designated as a national park — that occurred in 1921, it was set aside as a national reserve in 1832. Yellowstone was established as a national park in 1872.

In addition to a prominent display of Old Faithful geyser, the coin’s reverse also depicts a large bison in the foreground. A smaller one may be seen toward the background along with scenery of the area. It was designed and sculpted by United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Don Everhart. Also shown are the inscriptions YELLOWTONE, WYOMING, 2010 and E PLURIBUS UNUM.

2010 Yellowstone National Park Quarter

A portrait of George Washington, the first President of the United States, is included on the obverse of all of the strikes of the America the Beautiful Program. It was first featured on the circulating 1932 quarter-dollar and was designed by John Flanagan. Inscriptions include UNITED STATES OF AMERICALIBERTYIN GOD WE TRUST and QUARTER DOLLAR.

The Yellowstone Quarter Three-Coin Set may be ordered from the United States Mint website (, or its toll free number 1-800-USA-MINT (872-6468).

In related coinage, the US Mint has already released the five ounce Yellowstone silver bullion coin as a part of its America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coin Program.

Additional Three-Coin sets containing the subsequent 2010 America the Beautiful Quarters representing Yosemite National Park, Grand Canyon National Park and Mound Hood National Forest will be released by the Mint in 2011 as well.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments