News About US Mint Presidential $1 Coin Releases

Articles and news about United States Mint produced Presidential $1 Coin releases. These dollar coins honor former Presidents of the United States. The coin series began in 2007 and will last until at least 2016. (Also see $1 coins by year.)

James Garfield Presidential Dollar Coin CoverThe United States Mint placed the James Garfield Presidential Dollar Coin Cover on sale Thursday, December 29, 2011, for a price of $19.95. It is the Mint’s final product release for the 2011 calendar year.
It is also the final of four 2011 releases in the American Presidency $1 Coin Cover Series and the twentieth since the covers were introduced for the Presidents in 2007.

The limited edition cover features two James Garfield Presidential dollars from the first day of production. One coin, struck on September 1, is from the U.S. Mint facility in Denver, and the other, minted on […]


George Washington Presidential $1 CoinProduction of circulating Presidential $1 Coins has been immediately suspended at the United States Mint. The suspension comes at the direction of Secretary of the Treasury Tim Geithner as part of a broad Campaign to Cut Government Waste established by President Barack Obama earlier this year.

Presidential $1 Coins will continue to be produced by the United States Mint for coin collectors much like the Kennedy half dollars have been in recent years. New Presidential dollars, however, will no longer be available through the Federal Reserve Bank System as they had been in the past […]


James Garfield Presidential $1 Coin RollsAnother new $1 coin was released into circulation today, November 17, 2011. This one honors James A. Garfield, the 20th President. In addition, the United States Mint’s launch of the James Garfield Presidential dollar rolls began at noon Eastern Time.

U.S. Mint-wrapped $25 Garfield Presidential rolls are $39.95 each, plus $4.95 for shipping and handling. Buyers have the choice of dollars struck at either Denver or Philadelphia. Information for each is available at the Mint’s online store located at […]

{ 1 comment }

Zachary Taylor Presidential $1 Coin and RollsBuyers have until the end of this week to purchase Zachary Taylor Presidential dollar rolls directly from the United States Mint. As previously described in a last opportunity announcement involving several products, the Mint will stop selling the rolls on Friday, November 18, at 12:00 noon ET.

Zachary Taylor Presidential dollars were released within rolls by the United States Mint way back on November 19, 2009 — the same day they entered circulation via Federal Reserve Banks. Buyers then had an option to purchase Philadelphia or Denver minted […]


James A. Garfield Presidential DollarThe United States Mint scheduled a launch ceremony and coin exchange for the James A. Garfield Presidential $1 Coin on Thursday, November 17, 2011.

Open to the public, the events will take place at the James A. Garfield National Historic Site located at 8095 Mentor Ave in Mentor, Ohio, which is about 30 minutes east of Cleveland. The ceremony will start at 10 AM Eastern Time with the coin exchange immediately following.

The keynote address at the ceremony will be given by Dr. Allan Peskin, Professor Emeritus of History at Cleveland State University and author of Garfield, a biography of the President […]


Reverse of Presidential $1 CoinDespite an official confirmation from the United States Mint that is likely to be off into the distance, Federal Reserve Bank Services has published release dates for the upcoming 2012 Presidential $1 Coins, just as it recently listed them for the 2012 quarters. Of course, the standard caveat of "release dates are subject to change" applies, but it does give interested collectors at least a close idea of when the strikes from the sixth year of the Presidential series will be issued.

These four releases will mark the 21st through 24th of the series which honors former Presidents of the United States of America with portraits of the selected individuals showcased on the obverse of each strike. The program debuted in 2007 with a coin honoring George Washington, the first President of the United States […]


Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Dollar Coin CoverThe United States Mint released the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Dollar Coin Cover on Tuesday, October 4, for $19.95.

A popular collector product, the coin cover includes two circulation quality dollar coins chosen from the first day of production. One Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential $1 Coin is from the US Mint facility in Denver and the other is from Philadelphia. Both were struck on June 1, 2011. These coins are mounted on a display card with a U.S. 44-cent postage stamp […]


Dollar bill and $1 coinMembers of the United States Congress are once again seeking a change to the status quo of the $1 coin. However, unlike other recent attempts to actually end or severely limit production of the coins, this newest piece of legislation would ramp up $1 coin production with the goal to eventually replace the paper dollar bill.

The Currency Optimization, Innovation and National Savings Act, or COINS Act, was introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives as H.R. 2977 on September 20, 2011 by Rep. David Schweikert of Arizona. Schweikert, a member of the House Financial Services Committee and the Subcommittee on Domestic Monetary Policy, introduced the COINS Act as a means to […]


Hayes Presidential $1 Coin & First Spouse Medal SetThe Hayes Presidential $1 Coin & First Spouse Medal Set was launched by the United States Mint on Thursday, September 22, for $14.95.

The set features two collector strikes, an uncirculated Rutherford B. Hayes $1 Coin and a Lucy Hayes bronze medal, which bears the same designs as her First Spouse Gold Coins. The two are mounted on a decorative card with the portraits of the President and First Lady […]


Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential DollarThe United States Mint on Thursday, August 18, 2011, ceremoniously released the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential $1 Coin and also began selling rolls of the dollars for $39.95 each, plus shipping and handling.

Each of the rolls contains 25 circulation quality coins, and buyers have a choice of rolls coming from the United States Mint facility in Philadelphia or Denver. The Mint’s wrapping paper is specially designed in black and white to feature the mint of origin ("P" or "D"), "Presidential $1 Coin," "Rutherford B. Hayes," and "$25," which is the face value of its contents […]