Zachary Taylor

The United States Mint today at noon ET released the 2009 Zachary Taylor $1 Coin Cover for $14.95. The release marks the fourth and final issue of the 2009 American Presidency $1 Coin Cover Series. It includes two Taylor dollar coins that were struck on the first day of production. One coin is from the […]


The United States Mint on Thursday launched the Zachary and Margaret Taylor Presidential $1 Dollar Coin & First Spouse Medal Set for a price of $8.95, plus shipping and handling. Marking the fifth and final issues this year and the thirteenth since the product line began in 2007, the set includes an uncirculated Zachary Taylor […]


Zachary Taylor Presidential $1 coins were ceremoniously launched today as a part of the events surrounding Zachary Taylor Appreciation Day and the 225th anniversary of his birth.   "Millions of Zachary Taylor Presidential $1 Coins will make their way into the hands of Americans who will see them and remember the life of former President […]


Zachary Taylor Presidential $1 coins in dollar rolls went on sale at the US Mint today at Noon ET. The coins mark the fourth and final release this year of a Presidential Dollar and the twelfth for the series overall.   "The idea that I should become President seems to me too visionary to require […]


2009 Uncirculated Presidential Dollar Coin Sets will be available for sale beginning Thursday, April 2, at 12:00 noon ET, according to a United States Mint press statement. The 8-coin set is priced at $15.95 and includes four uncirculated coins minted from Denver and four struck in Philadelphia. Each includes the respective "D" or "P" or […]


Sales of the 2009 Presidential $1 Coin Proof Set begin Tuesday, February 10, at noon ET, the United States Mint said in a statement Tuesday. The Presidential Dollar Proof Set has now approached its third year of issue, with the first set released in 2007 when the $1 coin series began. The annual 4-coin proof […]


U.S. Sen. Roger Wicker has more reason to celebrate than most for the new 2009 Presidential Dollar designs the United States Mint released on Wednesday. He introduced the amendment calling for the motto "In God We Trust" to be relocated from the edge of the $1 coin to its face. (View up close 2009 Presidential […]


The United States Mint on Wednesday introduced newly designed 2009 Presidential $1 coins and released detailed artist images of the dollars. The American public will see 2009 circulating coins honoring Presidents William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, James K. Polk and Zachary Taylor. Most interestingly, different design elements have been implemented compared to the initial series of 2007 and 2008 coins.

2009 Presidential $1 Dollar Coin Design Images

Notable in the new designs is the placement of "In God We Trust," which in past years has been on the edge of each Presidential dollar. A public outcry occurred when the U.S. Mint inadvertently issued a small subset of 2007 dollars that did not have the inscription because of minting errors. Also, while many thought edge letterings on coins would be a fresh approach, fewer liked "In God We Trust" there after seeing the new dollars. They felt the inscription lacked prominence, and needed to be moved.

Read the rest of this numismatic news article »