Taylor Presidential $1 Dollar Coin Cover Issued


2009 Zachary Taylor $1 Coin CoverThe United States Mint today at noon ET released the 2009 Zachary Taylor $1 Coin Cover for $14.95.

The release marks the fourth and final issue of the 2009 American Presidency $1 Coin Cover Series. It includes two Taylor dollar coins that were struck on the first day of production. One coin is from the US Mint’s Denver facility and was produced on Sept. 10. The other is from Philadelphia and was minted on Sept. 9.

In addition to the two $1 coins, the Taylor display card carries a 44-cent Flag postage stamp with a postmark of "November 19, 2009, Louisville, KY," which is when the Taylor $1 coins were released to the public.

The product is limited to 40,000. The prior three issues of this year currently have sales figures ranging from between 21,000 to just above 27,000.

The coins honoring the twelfth President of the United States feature Don Everhart’s portrait of Taylor on the obverse along with the inscriptions ‘ZACHARY TAYLOR,’ ‘IN GOD WE TRUST’, ’12TH PRESIDENT’ and ‘1849-1850.’

Zachary Taylor is probably better remembered for his years as a soldier and strategist, than for his Presidency. His leadership on the battlefield during the Mexican-American War was instrumental in the acquisition of 525,000 square miles of land through the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.

The Taylor $1 cover may be ordered directly from the US Mint online store. They may also be purchased through the Mint’s toll-free number, 1-800-USA-MINT (872-6468).  Hearing and speech impaired customers may order by calling 1-888-321-MINT (6468).

The first four Presidential Dollars issued in 2007 had the image of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison. The next four $1 coins released in 2008 honored James Monroe, John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson and Martin Van Buren. The three other dollars for 2009 depict William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, and James K. Polk. 2010 Presidential $1 designs feature Millard Fillmore, Franklin Pierce, James Buchanan and Abraham Lincoln.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments