PNG 2011 Award Winners Announced


The Professional Numismatists Guild ( announced winners of the organization’s 2011 awards at the PNG Day summer banquet, August 15, 2011, on the eve of the American Numismatic Association World’s Fair of Money in the Chicago suburb of Rosemont, Illinois.

PNG 2011 Awardees
PNG 2011 award winners.

"These prestigious, annual awards formally recognize achievements in various areas of the hobby and profession," said Robert Brueggeman, PNG Executive Director.

PNG Immediate Past President and current board member, Paul Montgomery, received the Abe Kosoff Founders Award.

Paul Montgomery
PNG Immediate Past President Paul Montgomery happily accepts the Abe Kosoff Founders Award at the PNG Day Chicago banquet, August 15, 2011. Photo by Donn Pearlman. All rights reserved.

The Kosoff Award is named after PNG’s Founding President who spearheaded the 1953 launch of the organization, and is presented to a PNG member-dealer who has made a significant contribution to the Guild or to the numismatic fraternity in general the past year.

Brothers Charles and Joel Anderson jointly received the Significant Contribution Award for their exceptional, beneficial efforts on behalf of PNG, the profession and the hobby.

Joel Anderson
Joel Anderson accepts the PNG Significant Achievement Award on behalf of himself and his brother, Charles, August 15, 2011, at the PNG Day banquet. Photo by Donn Pearlman. All rights reserved.

The Anderson’s family business, founded by their grandfather in 1917 as a small newsstand in Alabama, has grown to include Whitman Publishing, publisher of A Guide Book of United States Coins (the "Red Book"). The company also hosts the Whitman Coin and Collectibles Expos in Baltimore, Philadelphia, Nashville and Atlanta.

The Art Kagin Ambassador Award was given to public relations executive and long-time collector Donn Pearlman. The Kagin Award is named after a former PNG President and nationally-known Iowa dealer who provided distinguished service as an advocate of numismatic goodwill.

The Robert Friedberg Award, presented to an author in recognition for an outstanding book or other literature, was given to David Thomason Alexander for American Art Medals, 1909 – 1995, published by the American Numismatic Society.

David T. Alexander
Author David T. Alexander, winner of the PNG’s Arthur Friedberg Award for outstanding book or literature, holds his book, American Art Medals, 1909 – 1995, while accepting the award at the PNG Day Chicago banquet, August 15, 2011. Photo by Donn Pearlman. All rights reserved.

The Friedberg Award is named in honor of a publisher and author of numismatic reference books, and is not automatically given each year; only when there is deemed to be a worthy recipient or recipients.

John N. Rowe III of Dallas, Texas was honored at the banquet for his 50 years of PNG membership.

Kevin Lipton (right) kisses John N. Rowe III
PNG member Kevin Lipton (right) playfully kisses John N. Rowe III after giving Rowe a plaque marking his 50 years as a PNG member-dealer. Photo by Donn Pearlman. All rights reserved.

Six other PNG member-dealers were recognized for each attaining 25 years of membership: Jan Olav Aamlid of Chonburi, Thailand; Tom Denly of Boston, Massachusetts; Bruce Kutcher of Nahant, Massachusetts; John Maben of Sarasota, Florida; Richard Joseph Schwary of Inglewood, California; and Kurt Spanier of Madrid, Spain.

About PNG

The Professional Numismatists Guild is a nonprofit trade association composed of the country’s top rare coin and paper money dealers who must adhere to a strict Code of Ethics in the buying and selling of numismatic merchandise.

For additional information about the awards for the PNG, contact Robert Brueggeman, PNG Executive Director, 28441 Rancho California Road, Suite 106, Temecula, CA 92590. Phone: (951-587-8300. Email: Online:

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments