Franklin Pierce Presidential Dollar Coin Cover Issued


Franklin Pierce Presidential $1 Coin Covers were issued by the United States Mint Thursday, July 1, 2010.

Franklin Pierce Presidential Dollar Coin Cover

The limited-edition product is the second released this year in the American Presidency $1 Coin Cover Series and the 14th since they began in 2007. Each is priced at $15.95, which is $1 more than prior year issues. A maximum of 32,000 will be produced, which is 8,000 less than pre-2010 covers.

These covers include two Franklin Pierce Presidential dollars that were struck on the first day of minting and are mounted on a display card featuring a portrait of the President. One dollar is from the Mint’s Denver facility — struck on March 1, 2010 — and the other is from Philadelphia — produced on March 8, 2010.

In addition to the two $1 coins, the display card includes a 44-cent Flag postage stamp with a postmark of May 20, 2010, Hillsborough, NH, which is when the very first dollars were released into circulation.

Susan Gamble designed and Charles L. Vickers sculpted the portrait of Franklin Pierce that is featured on the obverse or heads side of the coin. It also includes the inscriptions "FRANKLIN PIERCE," "IN GOD WE TRUST," "14TH PRESIDENT" and "1853-1857,".

Franklin Pierce: 14th President, 14th in Presidential $1 Coin Series

The following is a brief biography of Pierce, provided by the U.S. Mint when the $1 honoring him was first released.

Franklin Pierce, our Nation’s 14th President, was born in Hillsboro, New Hampshire on November 23, 1804. After graduating from college, he studied law and entered politics. He began his career in public service at the age of 24, when he was elected to the New Hampshire legislature, becoming its speaker two years later.

In the 1830s, he went to Washington, first as a representative, then as a senator. In 1847, he served briefly as a brigadier general in the Mexican-American War. Largely unknown to the public, Pierce was nominated for President in 1852 by the Democratic Party as a compromise candidate.

Partly because of his strong support for the Compromise of 1850, which attempted to mitigate the slavery issue and preserve the Union, he was elected President, serving from 1853 to 1857. Denied re-nomination by his party for President in 1856, Pierce retired from politics at the end of his term. He died on October 8, 1869, in Concord, New Hampshire.

2010 Franklin Pierce Presidential $1 Coin and $25 Dollars Rolls
2010 Franklin Pierce Presidential $1 Coin and $25 Dollars Rolls – Click to Enlarge Pierce Dollar

The Franklin Pierce $1 is the 14th coin released in the series honoring U.S. Presidents. It is the second for 2010 and follows the Millard Fillmore coin that launched into circulation on February 18, 2010. The next coins in the series feature President James Buchanan followed by Abraham Lincoln. (See 2010 Presidential Dollar release dates.)

The first four Presidential Dollars issued in 2007 had the image of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison. The next four $1 coins released in 2008 honored James Monroe, John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson and Martin Van Buren. The 2009 coins depicted William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, James K. Polk and John Tyler.

Coin Covers: Order through US Mint

Orders may be placed through the 2010 President Franklin Pierce:

United States Mint Product page

A $4.95 shipping and handling charge will be added. No household order limits are in place.

The covers may also be purchased through the Mint’s toll-free number, 1-800-USA-MINT (872-6468). Hearing and speech-impaired customers may order by calling 1-888-321-MINT (6468).

Rolls of the dollars are available directly from the Mint as well. They are available through specially Mint-wrapped $25 rolls containing either Denver or Philadelphia minted strikes for a price of $35.95, plus shipping and handling.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments