Australia Issues First Annual ANZAC $1 Coin


The Perth Mint has issued the first Australian ANZAC $1 coin from a new annual program honouring all men and women who have served their country since the Gallipoli campaign of 1915.

Australia First Annual ANZAC $1 Coin

The 2009 release symbolises the importance of remembering the sacrifices of Australian diggers and the preservation of their memories by each succeeding generation with a commemorative design of a former serviceman and a young child.

As well as The Perth Mint’s historic ‘P’ mintmark, the reverse design includes a silhouetted bugler, the words ‘Lest We Forget’ and the date of ANZAC Day – April 25 – on which the lives of all Australians lost in war time are remembered. The coin’s obverse portrays the Ian Rank-Broadley effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

Perth Mint Chief Executive Officer Ed Harbuz said that there was significant interest in previous coins commemorating Australia’s servicemen and women. Major Perth Mint releases in recent years include the limited Australians at War Coin & Medallion Tribute Set, the 90th Anniversary of the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps Series, and the Australian SAS 50th anniversary silver coin.


"Like our previous releases, the 2009 ANZAC $1 coin expresses the extraordinary pride that Australians have in their defence forces," Mr Harbuz said. "With an unrestricted mintage, the new coin provides as many people as possible with the opportunity to acquire an official Australian numismatic tribute."


Philip Loffman and Eric Watts of the famed World War II "Rats of Tobruk"Each subsequent coin in the program will bear a different symbolic design, offering them the chance to build a magnificent collection over time.

The first release is housed in an illustrated presentation card featuring a fold-out stand for upright display. The card depicts a proud young Australian honouring the service of a relative by wearing his medals on the right breast.

Available from The Perth Mint Shop, located at 310 Hay Street, East Perth, or on FREECALL 1800 098 817, the 2009 ANZAC $1 coin retails for $12.95.

Purchasers may also order online at or check availability with their local coin dealer, including Australia Post.

About the Perth Mint

The Perth Mint, wholly-owned by the State Government of Western Australia, is the official issuer of the Australian Federal Government’s Gold and Silver Bullion Coin Program. The Mint opened in 1899 in response to the discovery of rich gold deposits in Coolgardie and Kalgoorlie. It was Australia’s third branch of Britain’s Royal Mint – the others being the Sydney Mint and the Melbourne Mint (both closed).

The Perth Mint remained under Britain’s jurisdiction until 1 July 1970, when ownership transferred to the State Government of Western Australia.

In 2003, The Perth Mint officially opened an 8,400 square metre state-of-the-art manufacturing facility next door to its original limestone building. Dominating the Mint’s heritage precinct, these two important buildings are powerful symbols of more than 100 years of minting excellence in Western Australia.

Notify of

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
george carson

what is the value of canberra 1999 coin mint