Andrew Johnson Presidential $25 Dollar Rolls Available


The United States Mint today at noon released $25 dollar rolls of Andrew Johnson Presidential $1 coins for $39.95.

Andrew Johnson Presidential $25 Dollar Rolls

The Presidential dollar rolls are the first of four issues this year. Coins honoring former Presidents Ulysses S. Grant (1869-1877), Rutherford B. Hayes (1877-1881), and James A. Garfield (1881) will follow in approximately three-month intervals. (See their release dates and coin images.)

Each 2011 Andrew Johnson dollar honors the 17th President of the United States and marks the seventeenth coin issued under the Presidential $1 Coin Program which debuted in 2007. Under the program, four former Presidents are celebrated annually with a new coin release bearing a portrait of the individual on its obverse. The coins are issued in the order upon which the individual served. The Johnson dollars actually entered circulation on February 18, 2011, which was the same day the United States Mint and the National Park Service celebrated the president at a special ceremony held at the Andrew Johnson National Historic Site.

Ordering Johnson Presidential $25 Rolls

The $39.95 price tag represents an increase of $4 over the dollar rolls from last year. The 2010-dated Fillmore, Pierce, Buchanan and Lincoln rolls are still available at $35.95.

For the price, buyers may select a roll from either the Philadelphia or Denver Mint. The 25 coins are struck in circulation quality and are wrapped in specially designed paper that displays the mint of origin ("P" or "D") and "$25," the face value of its contents.

Information for each may be found online at this:

U.S. Mint Product Page

Orders may also be placed by calling 1-800-USA-MINT (872-6468). Hearing and speech-impaired customers may call 1-888-321-MINT (6468).

Andrew Johnson Presidential $1 Coin Uncirculated

There is also a $4.95 shipping and handling fee for domestic orders. The United States Mint indicates there are no order limits in place and that it will begin shipping the rolls in approximately 1-2 weeks.

United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Don Everhart designed the portrait of Johnson that is featured on the obverse (heads side) of the coin. Inscriptions include "ANDREW JOHNSON," "IN GOD WE TRUST," "17TH PRESIDENT" and "1865-1869."

Everhart is also responsible for the image of the Statue of Liberty that is featured on the reverse of the Andrew Johnson Coin as well as all of the other Presidential Dollars.

Andrew Johnson Bio Brief

The following includes a brief biography of the former president as published on the US Mint website:

Born in Raleigh, N.C., in 1808, Andrew Johnson grew up in poverty. He was apprenticed to a tailor as a boy and later opened a tailor shop in Greeneville, Tenn., married Eliza McCardle and participated in debates at the local academy.

In 1864, the Republican Party nominated Johnson, a Democrat, for vice president. After President Abraham Lincoln’s death, President Johnson proceeded with a moderate approach to reconstruct the southern states.

In 1874, Tennessee returned Johnson to the Senate, making him the only former President to have served in the Senate. He died a few months later on July 31, 1875.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments