Orbital Silver Coin Commemorates Leonov’s First Space Walk in 1965


Orbital Silver Coin Commemorates Leonov's First Space Walk in 1965The Perth Mint on Monday issued a commemorative one ounce silver coin celebrating the first space walk in 1965 by cosmonaut Alexei Leonov. The coin is the third release in its highly innovative Orbit and Beyond series where each main design literally orbits around a representation of the Earth.

The Perth Mint describes Leonov’s historic achievement: Exiting the Voskhod II capsule 500km above Earth, Leonov floated in space for more than 10 minutes before attempting to re-enter the airlock.  Alarmingly, his space suit had inflated, forcing the courageous cosmonaut to vent air before being able to squeeze back inside to rejoin compatriot Pavel Belyayev.

The coin’s coloured reverse design depicts space walking Leonov outside Voskhod II in orbit around a colourful earth. The obverse or heads side design features an outer Raphael Maklouf effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II toward the top with the words "ELIZABETH II" to the left and "COOK ISLANDS" to the right. (The coin is issued as legal tender by the Government of the Cook Islands.)

The commemorative Orbit and Beyond series began with the 2007 Orbital Sputnik and followed with the 2008 Gagarin Space Silver Coin. Two additional coins are scheduled.

Leonov First Space Walk Coin Specifications & Pricing

The following are Perth Mint provided technical specifications for the silver coin:

Presentation case for 2009 First Splace Walk Silver Coin



Silver Content (Troy oz)
Monetary Denomination (AUD)
Fineness (% purity)
Minimum Gross Weight (g)
Maximum Diameter (mm)
Maximum Thickness (mm)

The Perth Mint has a limited mintage of 25,000 coins worldwide.

The coin is currently priced at:

  • $88.64 (AUS)
  • $63.01 (US)

For more information or to place online orders, visit the The Perth Mint product page:

1965 – First Space Walk 2009 Silver Proof ‘Orbital’ Coin


The coin is also available through its many distributors.

About the Perth Mint

The Perth Mint, wholly-owned by the State Government of Western Australia, is the official issuer of the Australian Federal Government’s Gold and Silver Bullion Coin Program. The Mint opened in 1899 in response to the discovery of rich gold deposits in Coolgardie and Kalgoorlie.  It was Australia’s third branch of Britain’s Royal Mint – the others being the Sydney Mint and the Melbourne Mint (both closed).

The Perth Mint remained under Britain’s jurisdiction until 1 July 1970, when ownership transferred to the State Government of Western Australia. 

In 2003, The Perth Mint officially opened an 8,400 square metre state-of-the-art manufacturing facility next door to its original limestone building.  Dominating the Mint’s heritage precinct, these two important buildings are powerful symbols of more than 100 years of minting excellence in Western Australia.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments