Royal Australian Mint Issues Sir Donald Bradman Commemorative Coin


Sir Donald Bradman Commemorative CoinThe Royal Australian Mint officially launched its latest collector coin commemorating the 100th Anniversary of Sir Donald Bradman’s birth on 27 August 1908. The $5 uncirculated coin captures "The Don" in a familiar pose, saluting the crowd after scoring another century.


"We are proud to release this collector coin which celebrates what would have been Sir Donald Bradman’s greatest century. He is revered in sporting history, locally and internationally, as the greatest batsman of all time.

Bradman’s performance on and off the cricket field is a true inspiration to all sportsman. He played an important role in the development of the game and shaping this great nation," said Janine Murphy, Chief Executive Officer of the Royal Australian Mint.


Mark Vergano, Chief Executive Officer of Cricket ACT stated,


"On behalf of Cricket Australia, I would like to thank the Royal Australian Mint for releasing a stunning coin which is a great contribution to continuing the legend of our greatest sporting hero, Sir Donald Bradman"


Sir Bradman coin price, specifications and order details

The GST price of the coin is $18.75 while the international price is $17.05.

The following are Mint provided coins specifications:

Denomination $5
Metal Al/Bronze
Mass 20.00g
Diameter 38.74mm
Finish Uncirculated

The coin may be ordered online through the following Mint page:

2008 $5 Uncirculated Coin – Donald Bradman

Orders may also call be placed by calling 1300 652 020 or visit the Royal Australian Mint shop in Deakin, ACT.

According to the Mint, the uncirculated coin has been released in partnership with the Bradman Foundation. In August, the Mint announced a special website honoring Sir Donald Bradman, which is named the Greatest Century of All. It provides Bradman career highlights, statistics and achievements and an interesting interactive comparison with other modern cricket players.

About the Royal Australian Mint

His Royal Highness, The Duke of Edinburgh, officially opened the Royal Australian Mint, Canberra, on Monday 22nd February 1965. The Mint was commissioned to produce Australia’s decimal coinage, which was to be introduced into circulation on 14th February 1966. The Royal Australian Mint holds a place in history as the first mint in Australia not to be a branch of the Royal Mint, London.

Since opening in 1965 the Mint has produced over eleven billion circulating coins and has the capacity to produce over two million coins per day, or over six hundred million coins per year.

The Royal Australian Mint has struck coins for a number of South Pacific nations. Export coins were first struck in 1969 for New Zealand and, since then, coins have been produced for Papua New Guinea, Tonga, Western Samoa, Cook Islands, Fiji, Malaysia, Thailand, Nepal, Bangladesh, Israel and Tokelau.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments