PNG 2012 Award Winners Announced


Beverly Hills, California rare coin dealer Kevin Lipton has received the Professional Numismatists Guild’s ( Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of years of dedicated service and achievements in numismatics.

Kevin Lipton 2012 PNG Day
Kevin Lipton holds the plaque honoring him with the PNG’s 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award at the PNG banquet in Philadelphia on August 6, 2012. (Photo by Donn Pearlman. All rights reserved.)

The award was presented at the PNG Day awards banquet on August 6, 2012 in Philadelphia on the eve of the American Numismatic Association World’s Fair of Money.

In presenting the award, Richard Weaver noted that Lipton started buying and selling coins at the age of 13. By 17 he had established himself as one of the major players in the rare coin market. Lipton received the PNG’s Sol Kaplan Award in 2000 for his work in helping to fight fraud and thievery in numismatics.

This year’s Sol Kaplan Award for helping to rid the profession of fraud and thievery was jointly presented to Chicago, Illinois dealers Harlan J. Berk and Dennis J. Forgue.

"Harlan and Dennis helped the Polish Museum of America in Chicago recover 300 rare, historic documents stolen from the museum. These documents, including letters signed by George Washington and Thomas Jefferson, have a combined value of about $5 million," said PNG Director Robert Brueggeman who presented the award to Berk and Forgue.

"One of the recovered items is a four-page letter written by Jefferson in 1814 about his recommendations on how to finance the U.S. government. Harlan Berk and Dennis Forgue were able to recover 279 documents that were offered for sale to them by suspects in the case. In addition, their diligent work directly led to the museum and the FBI in recovering the remaining 121 stolen documents and the apprehension of suspects."

The Kaplan Award is jointly presented by the PNG and the Lewis M. Reagan Foundation, and is named after a former PNG President and Ohio dealer who was personally responsible for the apprehension of several people suspected of committing numismatic-related crimes.

Woodland Hills, California dealer Barry S. Stuppler received the PNG’s Significant Contribution Award for years of dedication and significant contributions to numismatics. Stuppler served as the ANA President 2007 — 2009, and now is President of the California Coin and Bullion Merchants Association and the Gold & Silver Political Action Committee. The award was presented by Fred Weinberg for Stuppler’s "years of dedication and significant contributions to numismatics."

The Abe Kosoff Founders Award, named after the PNG’s Founding President, was presented to New Jersey dealer John Albanese for his enthusiastic leadership and steadfast dedication to the entire numismatic community. The award was jointly presented by Stuppler and Dana S. Samuelson. Albanese helped found Professional Coin Grading Service (PCGS), Numismatic Guaranty Corporation (NGC) and Certified Acceptance Corporation (CAC).

James A. Simek presented the Robert Friedberg Award for an outstanding book or other literature was presented to Anthony J. Swiatek for his book, "Encyclopedia of the Commemorative Coins of the United States," published by KWS Publishers, Chicago, Illinois and London, England.

Paul Montgomery and Donald Kagin announced that former PNG President Edward Milas who passed away on December 17, 2011 was posthumously receiving the Art Kagin Ambassador Award for distinguished service as an advocate of numismatic goodwill.

PNG President Jeffrey Bernberg said that eight PNG members reached 25-year membership status this year. They are Robert L. Avena, Vineland, New Jersey; Silvano A. DiGenova, Laguna Beach, California; Donald W. Hosier, Pleasant Beach, New Jersey; Steve Ivy, Dallas, Texas; Kevin Lipton, Beverly Hills, California; James R. McGuigan, North Versailles, Pennsylvania; Harold B. Weitz, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; and Jeffrey S. Zarit, Wylie, Texas.

About PNG

The Professional Numismatists Guild is a nonprofit trade association composed of the country’s top rare coin and paper money dealers who must adhere to a strict Code of Ethics in the buying and selling of numismatic merchandise.

For additional information about the awards for the PNG, contact Robert Brueggeman, PNG Executive Director, 28441 Rancho California Road, Suite 106, Temecula, CA 92590. Phone: (951) 587-8300. Email: Online:

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments