2011 Presidential $1 Dollar Coin Proof Set Available

by Mike Unser on February 22, 2011 · 5 comments

The US Mint on Tuesday at noon ET made available the 2011 Presidential $1 Coin Proof Set for a price of $19.95. That represents a price increase of $4 over last year’s issue, although the same amount of coins are within each.

2011 United States Mint Presidential $1 Coin Proof Set

2011 United States Mint Presidential $1 Coin Proof Set

The Presidential Dollar Proof Set is now in its fifth year of production. The first set was released in 2007 when the United States Mint Presidential coin program (http://www.usmint.gov/mint_programs/$1coin/) was introduced.

The Presidential Dollar Proof Set includes collector proof versions of the four circulating 2011 Presidential $1 Coins. Each has a common reverse featuring a rendition of the Statue of Liberty while the obverse, or heads side, bears a portrait honoring a past President. The 2011 set includes four presidential proof coins featuring:

  • Andrew Johnson — 17th President

  • Ulysses S. Grant — 18th President

  • Rutherford B. Hayes — 19th President

  • James Garfield — 20th President

United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Don Everhart was responsible for designing and engraving the Statue of Liberty reverse seen on each dollar, as well as the obverse of the Andrew Johnson, Ulysses S. Grant, and Rutherford B. Hayes $1 coins. United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Phebe Hemphill designed and sculpted the obverse portrait of James Garfield.

2011 Presidential $1 Dollars

Proof versions of the 2011 Presidential $1 Dollar coins are shown on the top row while uncirculated versions are shown at bottom

Presidential dollar proofs bear the "S" mint mark denoting their production at the US Mint facility at San Francisco. The mint mark is inscribed on each coin’s edge, along with "E PLURIBUS UNUM" and "2011".

Presidential $1 Coin Proof Set price and order information

The annual 4-coin proof collection has proven to be popular with collectors, although the circulating $1 coin versions have had less success with a public who still prefer using dollar bills. The latest US Mint sales figures as of February 13 indicate 519,553 of the 2010-dated sets have sold.

The new set is priced at $19.95, plus $4.95 for shipping and handling. The US Mint indicates that there are no order limits in place. They may be purchased online through the Mint page:

Presidential $1 Coin Products

Or by calling 1-800-USA-MINT (872-6468).  Hearing and speech-impaired customers with TTY equipment may call 1-888-321-MINT (6468).

The same proof four Presidential $1 coins are also within the clad 2011 Proof Set and the 2011 Silver Proof Set. The US Mint released the clad set on January 11, 2011, for $31.95 and it issued the silver set on January 25, 2011, for $67.95.

Presidential Dollar release schedule

The presidential dollars are part of a multi-year program that was authorized by the Presidential $1 Coin Act of 2005 (Public Law 109-145) and features four new obverse designs annually. 

The 2011 Presidential Coin Designs were released in January. As of this writing, only the Johnson dollar has entered circulation, and that occurred on Thursday, February 18, 2011. The remaining dollars are scheduled for circulation release on May 19, August 18 and November 17. (See 2011 $1 release dates for additional information.)

The series is scheduled to last at least until 2016, with the following coins issued by year:

Schedule and release order for each Presidential $1 Coin

2007 1
George Washington
1789-1797 2008 5
James Monroe
John Adams
1797-1801 6
John Quincy Adams
Thomas Jefferson
1801-1809 7
Andrew Jackson
James Madison
1809-1817 8
Martin Van Buren
2009 9
William Henry Harrison
1841 2010 13
Millard Fillmore
John Tyler
1841-1845 14
Franklin Pierce
James K. Polk
1845-1849 15
James Buchanan
Zachary Taylor
1849-1850 16
Abraham Lincoln
2011 17
Andrew Johnson
1865-1869 2012 21
Chester A. Arthur
Ulysses S. Grant
1869-1877 22
Grover Cleveland
Rutherford B. Hayes
1877-1881 23
Benjamin Harrison
James A. Garfield
1881 24
Grover Cleveland
2013 25
William McKinley
1897-1901 2014 29
Warren Harding
Theodore Roosevelt
1901-1909 30
Calvin Coolidge
William Howard Taft
1909-1913 31
Herbert Hoover
Woodrow Wilson
1913-1921 32
Franklin D. Roosevelt
2015 33
Harry S. Truman
1945-1953 2016 37
Richard M. Nixon
Dwight D. Eisenhower
1953-1961 38
Gerald Ford
John F. Kennedy
Lyndon B. Johnson


{ 5 comments… read them below or add one }

billymac1 February 23, 2011 at 9:14 am

Another price increase that pushes away collectors and discourages new ones. How do kids get into coin collecting when the sets are $20 and $32? Maybe they can introduce an alternative, simpler packaging choice to allow cheaper pricing for the unwashed multitudes. How many of the fancy packages are cut or broken up and discarded anyway?

Dani March 1, 2011 at 7:01 am

I can’t wait for the Obama coin to come around

roger March 2, 2011 at 7:32 pm

$4 more and the box is cheap black and gold (ugly!). The 2007 thru 2010 proof boxes were cool and had the president’s pictures on the back of the box. Sign of the times…less product for more jack.

Gizmo January 19, 2013 at 10:50 am

“Dani March 1, 2011 at 7:01 am

I can’t wait for the Obama coin to come around”


don mason November 8, 2013 at 2:10 pm

looking for 4 coin $1 pres, coin uncirculated

Leave a Comment