Royal Australian Navy 100 Years Commemorative Coin Released


The Perth Mint boarded HMAS Perth to launch Australia’s precious metal silver coin tribute to mark 100 Years of the Royal Australian Navy.

Royal Australian Navy 100 Years Commemorative Coin
Royal Australian Navy 100 Years Commemorative Coin

In 1 March 1901, two months after Federation, responsibility for the former colonies’ naval forces passed from Britain’s rule to the new Commonwealth Government. This set in motion a sequence of developments which resulted in King George V granting the title ‘Royal Australian Navy’ to the Commonwealth Naval Forces on 10 July 1911.

Perth Mint Chief Executive Officer Ed Harbuz said that the Mint recognises the enormous pride Australians have in the men and women of their Defence Force, with the successful release of many commemoratives which observe Australia’s military milestones. "The remarkable response we receive to military-themed coin programs is undoubtedly a reflection of this sentiment," he explained.

"With the support of the Royal Australian Navy, we are honoured to issue a special collectable which promotes the nation’s naval history," he continued.

Struck from 1 ounce of 99.9% pure silver, the coin portrays a superb design highlighting the 100 year history of Australia’s protective sea power.

The creative elements represent the sailors from the early days of the Royal Australian Navy; HMAS Yarra, the River Class Torpedo Boat Destroyer commissioned in 1910; and the modern warship HMAS Anzac, the third vessel in the Australian fleet to carry the legendary name.

The design also features the inscription ROYAL AUSTRALIAN NAVY 100 YEARS 1911 – 2011, and includes The Perth Mint’s ‘P’ mintmark. Issued as Australian legal tender, the coin’s obverse features the Ian Rank-Broadley effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

The stunning tribute is accompanied by a gold-plated replica of the official Navy badge which features a tri-coloured enamel design, incorporating the St Edwards (The Queen’s) Crown and the inscription ROYAL AUSTRALIAN NAVY.

Fundamental to the Australian Defence Force’s contribution to the whole-of government effort to protect homeland borders and off-shore maritime interests from threat, the Royal Australian Navy is a vital military component in the international campaign against terrorism and counter-piracy.

Throughout its century-long history, the Australian naval service has also played a vital role in the promotion of maritime security throughout neighboring regions, and provided aid to the United Nations and other peacekeeping operations throughout the world.

Only 7,500 of the 100 Years of the Royal Australian Navy 1oz Silver Coin and Badge Sets will be issued by The Perth Mint in presentation packaging, accompanied by a numbered Certificate of Authenticity.

Priced at only $115.00, the commemorative set is available from The Perth Mint Shop located at 310 Hay Street, East Perth, by telephoning FREECALL 1800 098 817 or via the Mint’s online store at Purchasers can also find stock of the commemorative at their local coin distributor or Australia Post outlet.

About the Perth Mint

The Perth Mint, wholly-owned by the State Government of Western Australia, is the official issuer of the Australian Federal Government’s Gold and Silver Bullion Coin Program. The Mint opened in 1899 in response to the discovery of rich gold deposits in Coolgardie and Kalgoorlie.  It was Australia’s third branch of Britain’s Royal Mint – the others being the Sydney Mint and the Melbourne Mint (both closed).

The Perth Mint remained under Britain’s jurisdiction until 1 July 1970, when ownership transferred to the State Government of Western Australia. 

In 2003, The Perth Mint officially opened an 8,400 square metre state-of-the-art manufacturing facility next door to its original limestone building.  Dominating the Mint’s heritage precinct, these two important buildings are powerful symbols of more than 100 years of minting excellence in Western Australia.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments