Australian Lunar Coloured, Gilded and Gemstone Silver Coin Releases


The Perth Mint of Australia released today a unique series of silver coins celebrating the 2009 Year of the Ox. The Australian Lunar Series II coins incorporate innovative editions of $1 Coloured Ox, $1 Gilded Ox and $30 Gemstone Ox. The silver dollars contain one ounce of 99.9% pure silver. The $30 Gemstone edition weighs a full kilogram and includes slightly more than 32 ounces of the lustrous precious metal, plus two citrine gemstones.

Australian 2009 Lunar (Year of the Ox) Silver Coins

In Chinese culture, the Ox symbolises determination, patience and dependability. One of 12 animals associated with the ancient Lunar calendar, the Ox is said to influence the lives of people born in 2009.

The 2009 Australian Lunar Series II reverse design depicts the ox, as well as a calf, standing on grass with hills in the background. ‘Year of the Ox’, the Chinese character for ‘ox’, and The Perth Mint’s ‘P’ mintmark are also inscribed.

The obverse side bears the traditional Ian Rank-Broadley effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, the 2009 year-date and the monetary denomination.

The Coloured Ox edition portrays a coloured image of the ox, calf and grass. Both animals are gilded in 24-carat gold in the Gilded Ox edition. The third Gemstone Ox edition is similar to the first with the exception of a citrine gemstone in both of the calf’s eyes.

Each silver coin is Australian legal tender, has a limited mintage and comes within presentation display packaging.

Coin specifications by edition

Coloured Ox Edition
Gilded Ox Edition
Gemstone Ox Edition
Silver Content (Troy oz)
Face Value (AUD)
Min. Weight (g)
Diameter (mm)
Thickness (mm)

Mint information, prices and order page

For additional information, the latest prices and online order details, visit The Perth Mint page:

Australian Lunar – Year of the Ox

About The Perth Mint

The Perth Mint, wholly-owned by the State Government of Western Australia, is the official issuer of the Australian Federal Government’s Gold and Silver Bullion Coin Program. The Mint opened in 1899 in response to the discovery of rich gold deposits in Coolgardie and Kalgoorlie.  It was Australia’s third branch of Britain’s Royal Mint – the others being the Sydney Mint and the Melbourne Mint (both closed).

The Perth Mint remained under Britain’s jurisdiction until 1 July 1970, when ownership transferred to the State Government of Western Australia. 

In 2003, The Perth Mint officially opened an 8,400 square metre state-of-the-art manufacturing facility next door to its original limestone building.  Dominating the Mint’s heritage precinct, these two important buildings are powerful symbols of more than 100 years of minting excellence in Western Australia.

Notify of

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Peter Chang

I am looking for Australian Lunar Gild Silver Coin of OX, Series 1, if so please let me have an offer by return. Thanks..