2011 Australian Silver Koala Coins Availability


The Perth Mint will release its annual series of four differently sized 2011 Australian Silver Koala coins on October 4, 2010.

2011 Australian Silver Kola Coin
2011 Australian Silver Kola Coin - One Ounce Size

The issues feature a new reverse design — a concept that was introduced when the bullion series launched in 2007. The annually changing designs make the 99.9 percent silver coins a favorite among investors and collectors.

The Koalas are struck in half-ounce, one-ounce, ten-ounce and one kilo sizes, with respective Australian legal tender denominations of 50 cents, $1, $10 and $30. Each coin’s silver value alone is actually worth much more than their inscribed dollar amounts, as is typical with bullion offerings. (Spot silver at the time of this writing is at $19.73 an ounce.)

The 2011 Silver Koala coins feature a reverse design that depicts an adult koala and a young koala in the fork of a tree. The furry marsupial is native to Australia and has quickly become iconic of the country. Inscriptions encircle the outer edge of each coin. "Australian Koala" is at the top while "2011", the weight, and "999 Silver" are toward the bottom.

Their obverse or tails side feature the traditional portrait of Queen Elizabeth II as well as her name inscribed, "Australia", and the face value in dollars.

The following includes additional technical information for each size:

2011 Australian Silver Koala Specifications

Size 1 Kilo 10 oz 1 oz 1/2 oz
Silver Content (Troy oz) 32.151 10 1 .5
Minimum Gross Weight (g) 1,001.002 311.347 31.135 15.573
Maximum Diameter (mm) 100.60 75.60 40.60 36.60
Maximum Thickness (mm) 14.60 8.70 4.00 2.30


There are no mintage limits in place for each 2011 Silver Koala, but they will be produced only until replaced by the 2012 Australian Silver Koala Coins. These will be issued toward the final months of 2011.

For past and current year issues, check out the koala bullion coins from 2009 and from 2010.

About The Perth Mint of Australia

The Perth Mint (http://www.perthmint.com.au/), wholly-owned by the State Government of Western Australia, is the official issuer of the Australian Federal Government’s Gold and Silver Bullion Coin Program. The Mint opened in 1899 in response to the discovery of rich gold deposits in Coolgardie and Kalgoorlie. It was Australia’s third branch of Britain’s Royal Mint — the others being the Sydney Mint and the Melbourne Mint (both closed). The Perth Mint remained under Britain’s jurisdiction until 1 July 1970, when ownership transferred to the State Government of Western Australia.

Notify of

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

What is # of mintage for 2011 one oz. Koala silver coin?