Tyler Presidential $1 Coin Cover Set for Release


John Tyler $1 Coin CoverJohn Tyler $1 Coin Covers will be available on July 2 at 12:00 noon (ET), the US Mint announced Thursday.

These limited edition covers include two Tyler Presidential $1 coins that were minted on the first day of production. One dollar is from the Mint’s Denver facility and was struck on Feb. 17. The other is from Philadelphia and was minted on Feb. 23.

The presidential covers have a price tag of $14.95, plus $4.95 for standard shipping and handling. No household order limits are in place, but the covers do have a maximum production set at 40,000.

In addition to the two $1 coins, the display card carries a 44-cent Flag postage stamp with a postmark of May 21, 2009, Charles City, VA, which is when the Tyler $1 coins were released to the public.

John Tyler, tenth president and tenth in the presidential coins series

Tylyer Presidential Dollar coin rollsThe John Tyler dollar is the tenth coin released in the series honoring U.S. Presidents. It is the second for 2009 after the Harrison $1 coin launch. The following two Presidential $1 coins will be released later this year:

  • James K. Polk in the Summer, and
  • Zachary Taylor in the Fall

The first four Presidential Dollars issued in 2007 had the image of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison. The next four $1 coins released in 2008 honored James Monroe, John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson and Martin Van Buren.

Coin Covers: Order through US Mint

When available, orders may be placed on the U.S. Mint’s product and order page:

2009 John Tyler $1 Coin Cover

The covers may also be purchased through the Mint’s toll-free number, 1-800-USA-MINT (872-6468).  Hearing- and speech-impaired customers may order by calling 1-888-321-MINT (6468).

The Mint will also launch the Letitia Tyler First Spouse Gold Coin and bronze medal on July 2.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments