2009 Celebrate Australia $1 Coins


Available from the Perth Mint is a beautiful new colored collection of $1 coins to Celebrate Australia. This set contains 8 individual $1 coins, which are also available for purchase separately.

Celebrate Australia 2009 Coins

The coins are as unique as the lands of Australia they represent. With an area roughly equivalent to the continental portion of the United States, or 50% larger than Europe, it is not surprising Australia would contain a diverse collection of landscapes and scenery worthy of striking on coins.

Each of the Celebrate Australia coin’s designs represents a different state or mainland territory of Australia on its’ reverse. These reverses are colored to accent the exquisitely crafted images of wildlife or landmarks of each region.

The reverse designs and descriptions of the coins as provided by the Perth Mint are:

New South Wales – the coin’s reverse depicts a coloured composition of the Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. The design includes images of a koala and Waratah, the floral emblem of New South Wales.

Victoria – the coin’s reverse depicts a coloured composition of Melbourne’s Flinders Street Station and an iconic tram. The design includes a Little Penguin, a star of the ‘Penguin Parade’ on Phillip Island, and Common Heath, Victoria’s floral emblem.

Queensland – the coin’s reverse depicts a coloured composition of the Gold Coast and a coral reef. The design includes a sea turtle, always popular with those visiting the Great Barrier Reef, and a Cooktown Orchid, Queensland’s floral emblem.

Tasmania – the coin’s reverse depicts a coloured composition of Cradle Mountain and the icy waters of Lake Dove. The design includes a Tasmanian Devil, the State faunal emblem, and the flowers of Tasmanian Bluegum, its floral emblem.

South Australia – the coin’s reverse depicts a coloured composition featuring St Peter’s Cathedral in Adelaide. The design includes an image of South Australia’s faunal emblem, a hairy-nosed wombat, and Sturt’s Desert Pea, its floral emblem.

Western Australia – the coin’s reverse depicts a coloured composition featuring the Perth city skyline and the Swan River. The design includes a kangaroo, and Western Australia’s floral emblem, a Red and Green Kangaroo Paw.

Northern Territory – the coin’s reverse depicts a coloured composition symbolising world heritage listed areas of the NT’s landscape. The design includes an image of a crocodile and Sturt’s Desert Rose, the NT’s floral emblem.

Australian Capital Territory – the coin’s reverse depicts a coloured illustration of Australia’s Parliament House, situated on Canberra’s Capital Hill. The design includes a Royal Bluebell, the Territory’s floral emblem, and a Gang-gang Cockatoo, its faunal emblem.

The obverse contains an image of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, as portrayed by Ian Rank-Broadley. Also shown are the inscriptions “Elizabeth II”, “Australia” and “2009”.

Coin specifications, price and order details

Considered legal tender in Australia, the coins carry a face value of AUS $1. They weigh 13.3 grams with a diameter of 30.6 mm and a thickness of 3.1 mm.

Each coin will come on an illustrated presentation card that will fold out for presentation purposes. They are available from the Perth Mint for AUS $13.59 (~$11.17 US) individually, or save by purchasing them in the 8-coin set for AUS $90.86 (~$74.71 US).

Orders may be placed online through the Perth Mint page and CoinNews affiliate link:

Celebrate Australia Coin Series


About the Perth Mint

The Perth Mint, wholly-owned by the State Government of Western Australia, is the official issuer of the Australian Federal Government’s Gold and Silver Bullion Coin Program. The Mint opened in 1899 in response to the discovery of rich gold deposits in Coolgardie and Kalgoorlie. It was Australia’s third branch of Britain’s Royal Mint – the others being the Sydney Mint and the Melbourne Mint (both closed).

The Perth Mint remained under Britain’s jurisdiction until 1 July 1970, when ownership transferred to the State Government of Western Australia.

In 2003, The Perth Mint officially opened an 8,400 square metre state-of-the-art manufacturing facility next door to its original limestone building. Dominating the Mint’s heritage precinct, these two important buildings are powerful symbols of more than 100 years of minting excellence in Western Australia.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments