Australian Service Nurses Honoured on ANZAC Day


Royal Australian MintThe Royal Australian Mint has released a new coin series titled Australia Remembers ahead of ANZAC Day which pays tribute to past and present Australians who played important roles during times of war, conflict and peacekeeping.

"It is fitting to release this new series today as the nation takes the time to reflect on and celebrate the enormous sacrifices made by our diggers and those people who have served and died for Australia," said Graham Smith, Acting Chief Executive Officer of the Royal Australian Mint.

The first coin released in the Australia Remembers series honours past and present Australian Service nurses.

Australian Services Nurses 20c Coin "This series will acknowledge and recognise the efforts made by everyday Australians during times of war, conflict and peacekeeping. Along with our servicemen and women who played such an important role, so too did many other Australians, whether on our soil or abroad, such as Australian Service nurses. Since the time of the Boer War, service nurses have contributed by caring for the sick and wounded in every conflict to which Australia has committed troops," said Mr Smith.

"For over 100 years Australian Services nurses have provided assistance and care with such dedication, commitment and courage. I am proud to see our nurses recognised through the release of this stunning new collector coin from the Royal Australian Mint," said Debra Cerasa FRCNA, Chief Executive Officer, Royal College of Nursing, Australia.

"In releasing this series, Australians have the opportunity to give a gift or collect a keepsake which recognises the efforts and participation made by everyday Australians who played important roles in shaping our country’s history and contributing to its protection and development," said Mr Smith.

"Coins from the Royal Australian Mint, and the themes they acknowledge, are always great mementoes of our rich and proud heritage and culture," said Mr Smith.

To purchase the 2009 Australia Remembers 20c Australian Service Nurses uncirculated coin, please visit or call 6202 6800.

# # #

About the Royal Australian Mint

His Royal Highness, The Duke of Edinburgh, officially opened the Royal Australian Mint, Canberra, on Monday 22nd February 1965. The Mint was commissioned to produce Australia’s decimal coinage, which was to be introduced into circulation on 14th February 1966. The Royal Australian Mint holds a place in history as the first mint in Australia not to be a branch of the Royal Mint, London.

Since opening in 1965 the Mint has produced over eleven billion circulating coins and has the capacity to produce over two million coins per day, or over six hundred million coins per year.

The Royal Australian Mint has struck coins for a number of South Pacific nations. Export coins were first struck in 1969 for New Zealand and, since then, coins have been produced for Papua New Guinea, Tonga, Western Samoa, Cook Islands, Fiji, Malaysia, Thailand, Nepal, Bangladesh, Israel and Tokelau.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments