PNG Seeks 2009 Award Nominees


PNG Logo(Fallbrook, California) – Nominations for the 2009 awards are being sought by the Professional Numismatists Guild (, according to PNG Executive Director Robert Brueggeman and President Gary Adkins.

"Each year we ask collectors and dealers to nominate candidates in a half dozen award categories to formally recognize achievements in various areas of the hobby and profession," said Brueggeman. 

"These prestigious awards will be formally announced at the annual PNG Day summer banquet that will be held this year in Los Angeles, California on August 4," explained Adkins.

Nominations should be made directly to the appropriate award category chair.  The categories and contacts are:

Abe Kosoff Founders Award:  Presented to a PNG member-dealer who has made a significant contribution to the Guild or to the numismatic fraternity in general the past year.  The award is named after PNG’s Founding President who spearheaded the 1953 launch of the organization.  Committee Chair: Tom Denly.  E-mail:

Art Kagin Ambassador Award:  First presented in 2005, this award is named after a former PNG President and well-known Iowa dealer who provided distinguished service as an advocate of numismatic goodwill.  Chair: Kathleen Duncan.  E-mail:

Significant Contribution Award: Given to those who have made exceptional, beneficial efforts on behalf of PNG and the profession, and added to the hobby.  Chair: Terry Hanlon.  E-mail:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Presented to a numismatist for his/her devotion to numismatics and who, over their lifetime, significantly contributed to the hobby or profession.  Chair: Jeff Garrett.  E-mail:

Sol Kaplan Award: Presented to someone who has given of their time in an attempt to rid the profession of fraud and thievery.  The award is jointly presented by the PNG and the Lewis M. Reagan Foundation, and is named after a former PNG President and Ohio dealer who was personally responsible for the apprehension of several people suspected of committing numismatic-related crimes.  Chair: Paul Montgomery.  E-mail:  

Robert Friedberg Award: Presented to an author in recognition for an outstanding book or other literature.  Named in honor of a publisher and author of numismatic reference books, this award is not automatically given each year; only when there is deemed to be a worthy recipient or recipients.  Co-chairs: Jonathan Kern and Rick Ponterio.  A copy of each book nominated for this year’s award must be sent as soon as possible to Jonathan Kern, 441 South Ashland Ave., Lexington, KY 40502

About PNG

The PNG is a nonprofit trade association composed of the country’s top rare coin and paper money dealers who must adhere to a strict Code of Ethics in the buying and selling of numismatic merchandise.  For additional information about the awards or PNG, contact Robert Brueggeman, PNG Executive Director, 3950 Concordia Lane, Fallbrook, California 92028.  Phone: (760) 728-1300.  E-mail:  Online:

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments