Commemorative Five-Star Generals Coins Introduced


Coin Legislation on Capital BuildingU.S. Senator Pat Roberts introduced new coin legislation Tuesday, September 9, seeking to mint coins recognizing 5 historic United States Army Five-Star Generals.

The commemorative coins would honor George Marshall, Douglas MacArthur, Dwight Eisenhower, Henry “Hap” Arnold, and Omar Bradley — all alumni of the United States Army Command and General Staff College (CGSC) in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas.

Roberts represents Kansas, as does Senator Sam Brownback, who is a cosponsor of the bill entitled S. 3456.

Few details for the proposed coins are currently available. S.3456 is so new that the Government Printing Office (GPO) has not yet published the text of the legislation.

The available information does indicate the commemorative coins would coincide with celebration of the 132nd Anniversary of the founding of the Command and General Staff College.

More than likely, that would place their issuance around 2013. Based on previous coin legislation, the commemoratives would minimally be minted as silver dollars.

For any legislation to become law, it must pass both the House and the Senate, and get signed by the President.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments