U.S. Mint Commends Licaretz for ANA Numismatic Art Award


The American Numismatic Association announced Philadelphia artist Jim Licaretz is the 2008 recipient of the ANA’s Numismatic Art Award for Excellence in Medallic Sculpture (NAAEMS). Today, the United States Mint let the public know and praised Licaretz for receiving the award.


“We are pleased the panel of judges recognized Jim’s body of work,” said United States Mint Director Ed Moy.  “Jim’s artistry is helping the United States Mint achieve a new level of design excellence.”


Licaretz was a United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver from 1986 to 1989, and returned to the U.S. Mint in 2006 as a Medallic Sculpture. Recent bodies of work include the Mint’s 2008 Bald Eagle Proof silver dollar coin and the Andrew Jackson Presidential $1 obverse.


"To be honored with the American Numismatic Association’s award is quite a welcome surprise," said Licaretz. "There is a great responsibility in giving form to one’s experience of life. Medallic sculpture is a unique way of recording and sharing these experiences."


Licaretz was also a sculptor at Franklin Porcelain and the Franklin Mint in Pennsylvania, a master sculptor at Mattel, Inc. in California, and manager of the Sculpting Department at Artistic Solutions in California. 

In addition, he served as a faculty member at the Fleisher Art Memorial, Philadelphia; Otis School of Art and Design, Los Angeles; and the Academy of Art College, San Francisco.

Licaretz described his attraction for medallic art.


"The greatest appeal of medallic art is the freedom one has to create his or her own world on a small scale. Though there are exceptions, most medallic sculpture has a magic and uniqueness not found in most art forms.

I love that with the simplest of materials – clay, plaster and wax – an artist can birth something very personal."


Licaretz will accept the Award for Excellence on Aug. 2 at the ANA World’s Fair of Money® in Baltimore.

The American Numismatic Association is a nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging people to study and collect money and related items. Past United States Mint winners of the NAAEMS include Sculptor-Engraver Don Everhart and John Mercanti, Supervisory Design and Master Tooling Development Specialist.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments