Northern Territory Silver Coin Launched by Royal Australian Mint


The Royal Australian Mint launches the commemorative 2008 Northern Territory $5 silver proof coin, which is the fifth coin released since the start of the State Series in 2006.

2008 $5 Norther Territory Silver Coin by Royal Australian Mint

The Royal Australian Mint marks the 30th anniversary of self-government for the Northern Territory with the release of a commemorative five dollar coin.

The Commonwealth conferred self-government on the Northern Territory on 1 July 1978 by enacting the Northern Territory (Self-Government) Act 1978. This day is celebrated every year as Territory Day.

This is the fifth coin to be released in the State Series, with coins commemorating 150 years of state government issued for South Australia, Victoria, Tasmania and New South Wales in 2006 and 2007.

2008 $5 Norther Territory Silver Coin and Case


"If you have collected all of the State Series coins so far, then this $5 silver proof coin will be another star in this fine collection.

The Northern Territory is home to some of the most stunning landscapes and natural wonders our country has to offer.

We are pleased to mark this significant milestone with this coin." said Janine Murphy, Chief Executive Officer of the Royal Australian Mint.


The coin design features several maps of Australia and illustrates how the State and Territory boundaries have evolved over time.

The Northern Territory took shape slowly as an independent territory. South Australia took over responsibility for it in 1863, but relinquished the Territory to the federal government in 1911.

The Territory was then governed by Commonwealth administrators until 1974 when a Northern Territory elected Legislated Assembly was created. Full internal self-government under a unicameral system followed in 1978.

To purchase the 2008 Northern Territory State Series coin please visit or call 1300 652 020.

# # #

Northern Territory State coin specifications

Denomination $5
Metal Fine Silver (99.9%)
Mass 36.31grams
Diameter 38.74mm
Finish Proof
Mintage 12,500
Designer W. Pietranik


About the Royal Australian Mint

His Royal Highness, The Duke of Edinburgh, officially opened the Royal Australian Mint, Canberra, on Monday 22nd February 1965. The Mint was commissioned to produce Australia’s decimal coinage, which was to be introduced into circulation on 14th February 1966. The Royal Australian Mint holds a place in history as the first mint in Australia not to be a branch of the Royal Mint, London.

Since opening in 1965 the Mint has produced over eleven billion circulating coins and has the capacity to produce over two million coins per day, or over six hundred million coins per year.

The Royal Australian Mint has struck coins for a number of South Pacific nations. Export coins were first struck in 1969 for New Zealand and, since then, coins have been produced for Papua New Guinea, Tonga, Western Samoa, Cook Islands, Fiji, Malaysia, Thailand, Nepal, Bangladesh, Israel and Tokelau.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments