PNG Seeks 2008 Award Nominees


PNG LogoFallbrook, California. – Nominations for its 2008 awards are being sought by the Professional Numismatists Guild (, according to PNG Executive Director Robert Brueggeman and President Gary Adkins.


“We are asking collectors and dealers to nominate candidates in a half dozen award categories to formally recognize outstanding achievements in various areas of the hobby and profession,” said Brueggeman. 

“These prestigious awards will be formally announced at the annual PNG Day summer banquet that will be held this year in Baltimore, Maryland on July 29,” explained Adkins.


Nominations should be made directly to the appropriate award category chairman.  The categories and chairmen are:

Abe Kosoff Founders Award

Presented to a PNG member-dealer who has made a significant contribution to the Guild or to the numismatic fraternity in general the past year.   The award is named after PNG’s Founding President who spearheaded the 1955 launch of the organization whose motto is Knowledge, Integrity and Responsibility.  Committee chairman: Paul Montgomery, e-mail:

Art Kagin Ambassador Award

Named after a former PNG President and Iowa dealer, and presented to a collector or dealer who provided distinguished service as an advocate of numismatic goodwill. Chairman: Jonathan Kern, email:

Significant Contribution Award

Given to those who have made exceptional, beneficial efforts on behalf of PNG and the profession, and added to the hobby.  Chairman: Jeff Bernberg, e-mail:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to a numismatist for his/her devotion to numismatics and who, over their lifetime, significantly contributed to the hobby or profession.  Chairman: Jeff Garrett, e-mail:

Sol Kaplan Award

Given to someone who has given of their time in an attempt to rid the profession of fraud and thievery.  The award is jointly presented by the PNG and the Lewis M. Reagan Foundation, and is named after a former PNG President and Ohio dealer who was personally responsible for the apprehension of several people suspected of committing numismatic-related crimes. Chairman, Bob Rhue, e-mail   

Robert Friedberg Award

Presented to an author in recognition for an outstanding book or other literature.  Named in honor of a publisher and author of numismatic reference books, this award is not automatically given each year; only when there is deemed to be worthy recipients.  Books nominated for this year’s award must be received no later than April 25 by Committee Chairman Rick Ponterio, 1818 Robinson Ave., San Diego, California 92103.

About PNG

The PNG is a nonprofit trade association composed of the country’s top rare coin and paper money dealers who must adhere to a strict Code of Ethics in the buying and selling of numismatic merchandise. 

For additional information about PNG, contact Robert Brueggeman, PNG Executive Director, 3950 Concordia Lane, Fallbrook, California 92028.  Phone: (760) 728-1300.  E-mail:  Online:


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments