Harvey Reappointed as Director of Royal Canadian Mint


Ghislain Harvey has been reappointed as Royal Canadian Mint DirectorGhislain Harvey has been reappointed as director of the Royal Canadian Mint for another two years. The Honourable Lawrence Cannon, Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities made the announcement Wednesday, Jan. 30.


“I am pleased that Mr. Harvey has agreed to continue to serve as director of the Royal Canadian Mint,” said Minister Cannon. “His previous experience as an administrator and as a member of the Mint’s board of directors will be an important asset to the organization.”


According to the Royal Canadian Mint website, from 1997 to 2002, Mr. Harvey successively occupied the position of Head of Municipal Administration for La Baie, Chicoutimi and Saguenay. Prior to this, he was elected as Dubuc’s Member of Parliament for the National Assembly (1973-1977).

He has a Bachelor’s of Human Sciences from I’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi and he is a member of the Order of Chartered Human Resources and Industrial Relations Advisors of Quebec. Mr. Harvey was first appointed to the Mint’s Board of Directors on October 21, 2003.

About the Royal Canadian Mint

The Royal Canadian Mint, which is celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2008, is the Crown Corporation responsible for the minting and distribution of Canada’s circulation coins. An ISO 9001-2000 certified company, the Mint is recognized as one of the largest and most versatile mints in the world, offering a wide range of specialized, high quality coinage products and related services on an international scale. For more information on the Mint’s history, its products and services, please visit www.mint.ca.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments