2015 Presidential $1 Coins

in Presidential $1 Coins

The 2015 Presidential $1 Coins mark the ninth year in series of strikes from the US Mint dedicated to honoring the former Presidents of the United States with portraits of the individuals showcased on their obverse. Those honored by the 2015 strikes include Harry S. Truman, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson.

Debuting in 2007, the strikes were authorized by the Presidential $1 Coin Act of 2005 (Public Law 109-145) which was signed into law by President George W. Bush on December 22, 2005. As mentioned before, the portrait of the honored individual is shown on the obverse whereas an image of the Statue of Liberty is seen on the reverse, as required by the authorizing act. Edge inscriptions are also used on these strikes and was required by law as well.

These coins were authorized as circulating strikes meant for use in everyday commerce. However, the Mint also typically strikes proof quality examples for inclusion in special annual sets.

The 2015 Presidential $1 Coins are shown to include the following strikes:

  • Harry S. Truman Presidential $1 Coins – Honoring the thirty-third man to hold the office of President, Truman assumed the post after the death of Franklin D. Roosevelt and also won another term. He served from April 12, 1945 – January 20, 1953.
  • Dwight D. Eisenhower – Serving as the thirty-fourth US President, Eisenhower was extremely popular owing in great part to his military career during World War II. He was President from January 20, 1953 – January 20, 1961.
  • John F. Kennedy – The thirty-fifth chief executive served from January 20, 1961 – November 22, 1963 when he was assassinated in Dallas, Texas.
  • Lyndon B. Johnson – Johnson was the thirty-sixth person to hold the nation’s highest office and served from November 22, 1963 – January 20, 1969 assuming to the Presidency after the assassination of Kennedy.

In addition to these circulating dollar coins, the Mint also was required to strike First Spouse Gold Coins by the same Presidential $1 Coin Act of 2005. These spouse coins honor the wives of the former US Presidents with 1/2 ounce 24-karat gold strikes.

Previous post:

Next post: