2016 Presidential $1 Coins

in Presidential $1 Coins

Serving as perhaps the last year in a series from the US Mint dedicated to honoring the former Presidents of the United States of America are the 2016 Presidential $1 Coins. For sure to be included in the 2016 releases will be strikes honoring Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford and Ronald Reagan.

The program was authorized by the Presidential $1 Coin Act of 2005 (Public Law 109-145) and marks its tenth year with the 2016 releases. The honored individuals are showcased on the obverse of the strikes with a portrait with the coins in the series issued in the same order in which the individuals served in office.

Typically, four strikes were scheduled to be released annually under the program, but in order to be included in the series, the President must have been deceased for at least two years. Thus, only three individuals are scheduled to be included as of this writing. If any other former Presidents pass away before 2014, then they will also be included in the 2016 releases, or perhaps even push the series into 2017.

The 2016 Presidential $1 Coins are shown to include the following strikes (unless more qualified individuals are added to the list):

  • Richard M. Nixon Presidential $1 Coin – Serving as the 37th US President, Nixon was in office from January 20, 1969 – August 9, 1974 at which time he resigned from office in advance of likely impeachment proceedings against him owing to a White House scandal known as Watergate.
  • Gerald Ford Presidential $1 Coin – The 38th chief executive assumed the office upon the resignation of Nixon and served from August 9, 1974 – January 20, 1977.
  • Ronald Reagan Presidential $1 Coin – Reagan was the 40th US President and served two terms in office from January 20, 1981 – January 20, 1989.

First Spouse Gold Coins were also authorized by the same act authorizing these circulating dollars. However, the spouse coins honor the wives of the former Presidents and are struck from 1/2 ounce of 24-karat gold.

Previous post: