2014 Presidential $1 Coins

in Presidential $1 Coins

Marking an eighth year of release, the 2014 Presidential $1 Coins from the United States Mint honor four former U.S. presidents with a portrait of the individuals on the obverse. Those featured on the 2014 dollar coins commemorate Warren G. Harding, Calvin Coolidge, Herbert Hoover and Franklin D. Roosevelt.

Images of Proof 2014 Presidential $1 Coins

Images of Proof 2014 Presidential $1 Coins

This series was intended for general circulation and released through the Federal Reserve Bank system. However, public acceptance of dollar coins remained low and inventories of them built up in vaults. The Secretary of Treasury in late 2011 ordered the U.S. Mint to halt production for circulation, and they are now produced solely for coin collectors.

The four dollars as part of the 2014 Presidential $1 Coins are:

  • Warren Harding Presidential $1 Coin – Serving as the 29th President of the United States, Harding was in office from March 4, 1921 – August 2, 1923 before passing away two years into his term.
  • Calvin Coolidge Presidential $1 Coin – Succeeding Harding, Calvin Coolidge assumed the Presidency as the 30th US President and ended up serving from August 2, 1923 – March 4, 1929.
  • Herbert Hoover Presidential $1 Coin – Hoover served only one term as President being in office from March 4, 1929 – March 4, 1933. He was the 31st to serve in that post.
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential $1 Coin – Elected to a total of four terms as US President, Roosevelt served from March 4, 1933 – April 12, 1945 as the 32nd chief executive.

The U.S. Mint will release these coins in several products and several different qualities — circulating-quality by Presidential $1 Coin and then in sets in proof and uncirculated qualities. The first set of the year to feature the four coins was the 2014 Presidential $1 Coin Proof Set, priced at $18.95.

The spouses of all of the Presidents are honored by a separate series of coins issued by the US Mint, the First Spouse Gold Coin. These spouse coins are each struck from 1/2 ounce of 24-karat gold.

Congress authorized the strikes with the passage of the Presidential $1 Coin Act of 2005 (Public Law 109-145), which was signed into law by President George W. Bush on December 22, 2005. Under the Act, four $1 coins are required to be minted annually with the strikes appearing in the order in which the individuals served in office. Thus, the inaugural strike for the series was the George Washington Presidential $1 Coin which was released into circulation by the US Mint on February 15, 2007.

Previous post:

Next post: