2013 Presidential $1 Coins

in Presidential $1 Coins

The 2013 Presidential $1 Coins serve as the seventh year in a series of strikes from the US Mint honoring the former Presidents of the United States of America. Those included in the 2013 releases honor William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft and Woodrow Wilson.

2013 Presidential $1 Coins

Images of the proof 2013 Presidential $1 Coins

The series debuted in 2007 and were authorized by the Presidential $1 Coin Act of 2005 (Public Law 109-145). Under the act, the obverse of the strikes is required to contain a portrait of the honored individual while the reverse of all the coins in the program will contain the same image of the Statue of Liberty.

The dollar release order is dictated by the order in which the individuals served in office. Thus, the inaugural strike of the series was the George Washington Presidential $1 Coin which appeared in 2007. Four Presidential dollars appear annually until all of the qualified individuals have been honored. A former President must be deceased at least two years before he will be included in the program.

The 2013 Presidential $1 Coins include the following strikes:

  • William McKinley Presidential $1 Coin – This strike honors the twenty-fifth US President who was elected for two terms but only served a partial of his second before being assassinated. He was in office from March 4, 1897 – September 14, 1901.
  • Theodore Roosevelt Presidential $1 Coin – Assuming to the Presidency after McKinley assassination, Roosevelt was elected again for a second term and actually served from September 14, 1901 – March 4, 1909 making him the twenty-sixth US President.
  • William Howard Taft Presidential $1 Coin – Taft was the twenty-seventh chief executive but only served for one term being in office from March 4, 1909 – March 4, 1913.
  • Woodrow Wilson Presidential $1 Coin – The twenty-eighth US President, Wilson served for two terms from March 4, 1913 – March 4, 1921.

First Spouse Gold Coins were also authorized by the same Act which authorized these dollar coins and honor the wives of the former US Presidents.

Previous post:

Next post: