San Antonio Missions National Historical Park Silver Uncirculated Coin

in 2019 National Park Coins

The San Antonio Missions National Historical Park Silver Uncirculated Coin will be issued by the US Mint as the fourth of five 2019 releases of the America the Beautiful Five Ounce Silver Uncirculated Coin™ Program. The reverse of the strike will contain a design showcasing a portion of the San Antonio Missions National Historical Park found in the state of Texas. As of this posting, a release date for the silver uncirculated coin was not known.

Like other coins of this series, the San Antonio Missions Coin will be struck from five ounces of .999 fine silver to a diameter of three inches. These specifications are the same as a series of silver bullion coins upon which the uncirculated coins are based.

Both feature designs originally created for a third series – the America the Beautiful Quarters®, including reverse designs emblematic of selected sites of national interest. One site was chosen from each state, the District of Columbia and the five US territories for a total of fifty-six to be minted per series.

In the case of this specific coin, the reverse will be emblematic of the national historical park. Included as well on the reverse of the silver uncirculated coin will be the inscriptions of SAN ANTONIO MISSIONS, TEXAS, 2019 and E PLURIBUS UNUM.

The obverse of the coin will contain a design also featured on the bullion and the circulating quarter series. This will be a portrait of the first President of the United States George Washington. The portrait was originally designed by John Flanagan for the 1932 circulating quarter dollar and it has been in use on the quarters in one form or another ever since. Surrounding the portrait of Washington will be the inscriptions of UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, LIBERTY, IN GOD WE TRUST and QUARTER DOLLAR.

San Antonio Missions National Historical Park of Texas

San Antonio Missions National Historical Park was created in the state of Texas on April 1, 1983. It preserves the location and structures of four of the missions established by Spanish Christians who came to the region centuries ago.

The four missions are Mission Concepcion, Mission San Jose, Mission San Juan, and Mission Espada. A fifth mission is better known, but not considered a part of the national historical park – the Alamo which was known as the Mission San Antonio de Valero.

Previous post:

Next post: