Olympic National Park Silver Uncirculated Coin

in 2011 National Park Coins

The Olympic National Park Silver Uncirculated Coin honors Olympic National Park of Washington and marks the third five ounce collector grade strike to be released by the United States Mint in 2011. A release date of November 29, 2011 is listed for the strike.

Olympic National Park Silver Uncirculated Coin

The Olympic Silver Uncirculated Coin features the same designs as the circulating quarter version shown above.

These coins are the numismatic versions of the US Mint program of America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coins. Both series are struck from five ounces of .999 fine silver and honor sites of national interest with designs on their reverse. However, as the names indicate, the bullion coins are struck for investors whereas each uncirculated coin is created for collectors.

The silver uncirculated coin actually contains design elements similar to the Mint’s America the Beautiful Quarters® Program, which are circulating quarters with reverse designs emblematic of sites from around the United States struck that showcase beautiful locations found throughout the country. One location was selected from each state as well as the District of Columbia and the five US territories.

In order to look similar to the quarters, an image of George Washington, the first President of the United States, is found on the obverse of the silver uncirculated coin. This portrait was originally designed by John Flanagan and has been used in one form or another on the quarter dollar since 1932. Also shown are the inscriptions of UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, LIBERTY, IN GOD WE TRUST and QUARTER DOLLAR.

AIP Master Designer Susan Gamble designed the reverse image which was sculpted by United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Michael Gaudioso. It shows a Roosevelt Elk standing on a gravel bar of the Hoh River with Mount Olympus off in the distance. Surrounding the design are the inscriptions of OLYMPIC, WASHINGTON, 2011 and E PLURIBUS UNUM.

Olympic National Park in Washington

United States President Theodore Roosevelt originally took steps to protect the Wahsington area of Mount Olympus in 1909 when he created Mount Olympus National Monument. Its designation was changed to that of a national park on June 29, 1938 when legislation authorized by Congress was signed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt.

95% of the park is designated as wilderness which many find perfect for exploring with over 600 miles of trails into the park area. The park actually consists of three regions, a Pacific coast-line, a temperate rain forest which receives over 120 inches of rain annually and the Olympic mountain range.

Previous post:

Next post: