America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coins

in Bullion Coins

America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coin

The US Mint will produce America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coins™ until at least 2021. Many casual collectors around the country may have noticed that there are new circulating America the Beautiful Quarters® in their pocket-change that feature reverse designs emblematic of sites of national interest from around the United States. What they may not be aware of, however, is that the US Mint also started producing these massive five ounce silver bullion coins in 2010 that share the same basic imagery as the quarters.

ATB Silver Bullion Coins by Year and State*

2010 2016 AK CT IA MA MS NM PR VA
2011 2017 AL DC ID MD MT NV RI VI
2012 2018 AR DE IL ME NC NY SC VT
2013 2019 AS FL IN MI ND OH SD WA
2014 2020 AZ GA KS MN NE OK TN WI
2015 2021 CA GU KY MO NH OR TX WV

*2012-2021 coins link to sister site

Both series of coins were originally authorized by the America’s Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act of 2008, or Public Law 110-456. The act sought to continue the popularity seen for the previous 50-State Quarters series and its follow-up, the District of Columbia and U.S. Territories Quarters Program. The state quarters program saw intense interest from the public and resulted in many new coin collections centered around the new quarter-dollars.

Accordingly, Congress used the successful formula of the previous series to create new "America the Beautiful Quarters" featuring an obverse portrait of George Washington and a reverse design showcasing locations found through the United States. Expanding on that proven plan, Congress also mandated the creation of large silver bullion coins that were required to use those same quarter designs.

The new bullion coins are quite different from the America the Beautiful Quarters in several respects, however. First, the size of each new America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coin would dwarf that of the quarters. The bullion coins have a diameter of three inches whereas the quarter dollar only has a diameter of 0.955 inches. Second, the composition of five ounces of .999 fine silver would give these strikes an intrinsic melt value not seen in the clad quarter dollars. Third, as the obverse and reverse designs of the bullion coins were originally required to be identical to that of the quarters, the Mint was directed to place an edge inscription on each bullion piece indicating its fineness and weight. Quarter dollars do not have an edge inscription and instead feature a reeded edge.

Finally, as bullion products, these five ounce silver coins are sold through the United States Mint’s network of authorized purchasers instead of directly to the public. The US Mint uses this network for all of its bullion coins. The network purchases them in bulk from the US Mint, then resells them in smaller lots to coin dealers and individuals for a small premium above the current spot price of the precious metals contained within them.

With a general plan in place, the Secretary of the Treasury was free (with the help of the US Mint and the chief executive of each host jurisdiction) to choose a list of national sites that were to be honored in the programs. One site was to be selected from each state, the District of Columbia and the five U.S. territories, for a total of fifty-six locations to be honored at a rate of five per year. Once chosen, the release dates for the coins would be dictated by the order in which the honored sites came under the direct control of the federal government.

The complete schedule of sites to be honored and their release dates is shown below:

America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coins Release Dates

Year   Location National Park or National Site Release Date
  Arkansas Hot Springs National Park December 10, 2010
  Wyoming Yellowstone National Park December 10, 2010
  California Yosemite National Park December 10, 2010
  Arizona Grand Canyon National Park December 10, 2010
  Oregon Mount Hood National Forest December 10, 2010
  Pennsylvania Gettysburg National Military Park TBA 2011
  Montana Glacier National Park TBA 2011
  Washington Olympic National Park TBA 2011
  Mississippi Vicksburg National Military Park TBA 2011
  Oklahoma Chickasaw National Recreation Area TBA 2011
  Puerto Rico El Yunque National Forest TBA 2012
  New Mexico Chaco Culture National Historical Park TBA 2012
  Maine Acadia National Park TBA 2012
  Hawaii Hawaii Volcanoes National Park TBA 2012
  Alaska Denali National Park TBA 2012
  New Hampshire White Mountain National Forest TBA 2013
  Ohio Perry’s Victory and International Peace Memorial TBA 2013
  Nevada Great Basin National Park TBA 2013
  Maryland Fort McHenry National Monument and Historic Shrine TBA 2013
  South Dakota Mount Rushmore National Memorial TBA 2013
  Tennessee Great Smoky Mountains National Park TBA 2014
  Virginia Shenandoah National Park TBA 2014
  Utah Arches National Park TBA 2014
  Colorado Great Sand Dunes National Park TBA 2014
  Florida Everglades National Park TBA 2014
  Nebraska Homestead National Monument of America TBA 2015
  Louisiana Kisatchie National Forest TBA 2015
  North Carolina Blue Ridge Parkway TBA 2015
  Delaware Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge TBA 2015
  New York Saratoga National Historical Park TBA 2015
  Illinois Shawnee National Forest TBA 2016
  Kentucky Cumberland Gap National Historical Park TBA 2016
  West Virginia Harpers Ferry National Historical Park TBA 2016
  North Dakota Theodore Roosevelt National Park TBA 2016
  South Carolina Fort Moultrie (Fort Sumter National Monument) TBA 2016
  Iowa Effigy Mounds National Monument TBA 2017
  District of Columbia Frederick Douglass National Historic Site TBA 2017
  Missouri Ozark National Scenic Riverways TBA 2017
  New Jersey Ellis Island National Monument (Statue of Liberty) TBA 2017
  Indiana George Rogers Clark National Historical Park TBA 2017
  Michigan Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore TBA 2018
  Wisconsin Apostle Islands National Lakeshore TBA 2018
  Minnesota Voyageurs National Park TBA 2018
  Georgia Cumberland Island National Seashore TBA 2018
  Rhode Island Block Island National Wildlife Refuge TBA 2018
  Massachusetts Lowell National Historical Park TBA 2019
  Northern Mariana Islands American Memorial Park TBA 2019
  Guam War in the Pacific National Historical Park TBA 2019
  Texas San Antonio Missions National Historical Park TBA 2019
  Idaho Frank Church River of No Return Wilderness TBA 2019
  American Samoa National Park of American Samoa TBA 2020
  Connecticut Weir Farm National Historic Site TBA 2020
  U.S. Virgin Islands Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve TBA 2020
  Vermont Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park TBA 2020
  Kansas Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve TBA 2020
  Alabama Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site TBA 2021



Previous post:

Next post: