Saturday, February 27, 2021
Tags Polar Series Coins

Tag: Polar Series Coins

Antarctic Explorers Australian Coins to Head South on Antarctic Adventure

Five hundred collector coins from the Royal Australian Mint will have the trip of a lifetime in a commemorative flight over the Antarctic to mark the centenary of the attainment of the South Magnetic Pole. At their recent 2009 product launch, the Royal Australian Mint released its third coin in their Polar Series – Antarctic Explorers. Today [17 Jan.] this coin is fittingly onboard the South Magnetic Pole Centenary Flyover, organised by the Royal Society of Victoria.

2009 Australian $5 Silver Proof Antarctic Explorer Coin

In recognition of the centenary, the Antarctic Explorers coin features members of the 1907-09 Earnest Shackleton Expedition: Sir Douglas Mawson accompanied by Tannat Edgeworth Casey and Forbes Mckay, who were the first group to reach the South Magnetic Pole.

Read the rest of this numismatic news article »

Australian Antarctic Skua Coin Unveiled: 2008 Polar Series Coins Mark 4th International Polar Year

The Royal Australian Mint has announced the start of the 2008 Polar Series coins, which mark the 4th International Polar Year - a large scientific programme focused on the Arctic and the Antarctic.

This 2008 $5 Polar Antarctic Territory Silver Proof Coin is the first in a series of three $5 proof coins in the Polar Series, marking the 4th International Polar Year.

Read the rest of this numismatic news article »

Most Read