Effigy Mounds National Monument Silver Bullion Coin

in 2017 National Park Coins

The Effigy Mounds National Monument Silver Bullion Coin will appear as the first of five silver bullion coins released in a US Mint series in 2017. Reverse designs found on each coin will be emblematic of Effigy Mounds National Monument found in the state of Iowa. A release date was not known at the time of this posting.

This coin will not only mark the first of five in 2017 for the series but will also represent the thirty-sixth for the America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coin™ Program overall. The America the Beautiful Silver Coins debuted in 2010 and see five strikes released annually as part of it with the last one scheduled to appear in 2021.

A total of fifty-six will have been created for the series by the time it is completed. Each will feature a reverse design emblematic of a different location of national interest found in the United States and its territories and each will be struck from five ounces of .999 fine silver to a diameter of three inches.

The US Mint strikes these coins as a low-cost option for precious metal investors featuring obverse and reverse imagery originally created for a series of circulating quarter dollars. Thus, the obverse of each coin will contain the portrait of George Washington by John Flanagan seen on quarters since 1932. Inscriptions around the portrait will include UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, LIBERTY, IN GOD WE TRUST and QUARTER DOLLAR.

Shown on the reverse will be the design emblematic of the national site, in this case Effigy Mounds. That design will be surrounded by the inscriptions of EFFIGY MOUNDS, IOWA, 2017 and E PLURIBUS UNUM.

Effigy Mounds National Monument in Iowa

Effigy Mounds National Monument is located in the state of Iowa and was officially established on October 25, 1949. The site was created to protect over 200 mounds built by Native Americans of the region.

Some of those mounds, 31 to be exact, were built to resemble creatures of some sort which led to the name of the national monument – effigy. The monument is split into three different sections each offering a different perspective on the mounds.

Previous post:

Next post: