America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coins and Release Dates

in Release Dates

The America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coins are a series of five ounce .999 fine silver strikes from the US Mint which first appeared in 2010.

The series, officially titled the America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coin™ Program, is based on another series of strikes also from the Mint known as the America the Beautiful Quarters™ Program. Congress authorized both programs as part of the America’s Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act of 2008 which became Public Law 110-456 when it was signed by President George W. Bush on December 23, 2008.

Both programs are to feature reverse designs emblematic of selected national sites of interest from around the United States and its territories. One site was chosen from each state, the District of Columbia and the five US Territories for a total of fifty-six to be honored in each series. The coins are struck so that five year-dated issues are produced each year from 2010 until both programs are completed in 2021. The obverse of these coins will all contain the same image – a portrait of George Washington, the first President of the United States, as designed by John Flanagan.

As bullion coins, these strikes are not sold directly to the public by the US Mint. Instead, they are issued through the Mint’s network of authorized purchasers. These APs obtain the coins in bulk from the Mint, then resell them to coin dealers and the public adding a small authorized premium above the current spot price of the precious metals contained within them.

Initial production difficulties experienced by the Mint led the sale of the first five strikes in the series to be delayed until late in 2010. Their release was also the subject of much controversy as the limited mintage produced by the Mint (only 33,000 per design) led to some APs charging significant premiums on their re-sale. Consequently, the Mint delayed their release a few more days until it established a new policy with its APs spelling out the allowable premiums they could charge on the America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coins.

The United States Mint also has a similar series of collector-grade strikes which they have dubbed the America the Beautiful Five Ounce Silver Uncirculated Coins.

The complete list of sites to be honored in the America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coin Program is shown below along with their corresponding release dates (if known):

America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coin Release Schedule

State / D.C. /
2010 Silver Bullion Coins Release
Arkansas Hot Springs National Park December 10, 2010
Wyoming Yellowstone National Park December 10, 2010
California Yosemite National Park December 10, 2010
Arizona Grand Canyon National Park December 10, 2010
Oregon Mount Hood National Forest December 10, 2010
  2011 Silver Bullion Coins  
Pennsylvania Gettysburg National Military Park April 2011
Montana Glacier National Park April 2011
Washington Olympic National Park April 2011
Mississippi Vicksburg National Military Park April 2011
Oklahoma Chickasaw National Recreation Area April 2011
  2012 Silver Bullion Coins  
Puerto Rico El Yunque National Forest TBA 2012
New Mexico Chaco Culture National Historical Park TBA 2012
Maine Acadia National Park TBA 2012
Hawaii Hawaii Volcanoes National Park TBA 2012
Alaska Denali National Park TBA 2012
  2013 Silver Bullion Coins  
New Hampshire White Mountain National Forest TBA 2013
Ohio Perry’s Victory and International Peace Memorial TBA 2013
Nevada Great Basin National Park TBA 2013
Maryland Fort McHenry National Monument and Historic Shrine TBA 2013
South Dakota Mount Rushmore National Memorial TBA 2013
  2014 Silver Bullion Coins  
Tennessee Great Smoky Mountains National Park TBA 2014
Virginia Shenandoah National Park TBA 2014
Utah Arches National Park TBA 2014
Colorado Great Sand Dunes National Park TBA 2014
Florida Everglades National Park TBA 2014
  2015 Silver Bullion Coins  
Nebraska Homestead National Monument of America TBA 2015
Louisiana Kisatchie National Forest TBA 2015
North Carolina Blue Ridge Parkway TBA 2015
Delaware Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge TBA 2015
New York Saratoga National Historical Park TBA 2015
  2016 Silver Bullion Coins  
Illinois Shawnee National Forest TBA 2016
Kentucky Cumberland Gap National Historical Park TBA 2016
West Virginia Harpers Ferry National Historical Park TBA 2016
North Dakota Theodore Roosevelt National Park TBA 2016
South Carolina Fort Moultrie (Fort Sumter National Monument) TBA 2016
  2017 Silver Bullion Coins  
Iowa Effigy Mounds National Monument TBA 2017
District of Columbia Frederick Douglass National Historic Site TBA 2017
Missouri Ozark National Scenic Riverways TBA 2017
New Jersey Ellis Island National Monument (Statue of Liberty) TBA 2017
Indiana George Rogers Clark National Historical Park TBA 2017
  2018 Silver Bullion Coins  
Michigan Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore TBA 2018
Wisconsin Apostle Islands National Lakeshore TBA 2018
Minnesota Voyageurs National Park TBA 2018
Georgia Cumberland Island National Seashore TBA 2018
Rhode Island Block Island National Wildlife Refuge TBA 2018
  2019 Silver Bullion Coins  
Massachusetts Lowell National Historical Park TBA 2019
Northern Mariana Islands American Memorial Park TBA 2019
Guam War in the Pacific National Historical Park TBA 2019
Texas San Antonio Missions National Historical Park TBA 2019
Idaho Frank Church River of No Return Wilderness TBA 2019
  2020 Silver Bullion Coins  
American Samoa National Park of American Samoa TBA 2020
Connecticut Weir Farm National Historic Site TBA 2020
U.S. Virgin Islands Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve TBA 2020
Vermont Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park TBA 2020
Kansas Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve TBA 2020
  2021 Silver Bullion Coins  
Alabama Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site TBA


Previous post: