U.S. Mint Responds to Law Requiring Six New Quarters


Late last night, the United States Mint responded to the portion of the new law President Bush signed two days ago that mandates the addition of six new commemorative quarters. In a statement, Mint Director Ed Moy said:


“The 50 State Quarters® Program has been the most popular coin program in U.S. history, generating billions of dollars that have been used to pay down the National debt,” said United States Mint Director Ed Moy. “We look forward to honoring the District of Columbia and the U.S. Territories by minting and issuing six quarters in 2009 that will build upon the success of a program that has educated a generation in state geography and history.”


The specific quarters released throughout 2009 will commemorate:

  • The District of Columbia
  • The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico
  • Guam
  • American Samoa
  • The United States Virgin Islands
  • The Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands


The new quarters will:


"… continue to feature images of President George Washington on the obverse (heads side) of each quarter.  The image on the reverse (tails side) will commemorate the history, geography or traditions of the District of Columbia and each territory."


For more information about the law and its requirement, read the CoinNews article: Six New Quarters Coming, ‘In God We Trust’ Motto Moving.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments