2010 Presidential $1 Coins

in Presidential $1 Coins

Serving as the fourth year in a series of strikes from the US Mint honoring the former Presidents of the United States was the 2010 Presidential $1 Coins. Coins struck in the year include those honoring Millard Fillmore, Franklin Pierce, James Buchanan and Abraham Lincoln.

2010 Presidential $1 Coins (US Mint images)

2010 Presidential $1 Coins - Click to Enlarge

The coins were authorized by the Presidential $1 Coin Act of 2005 (Public Law 109-145) along with several other strikes. They included the American Buffalo 24-Karat Bullion Gold Coins and four new Lincoln Cent coins that appeared in 2009 to mark the bicentennial of the birth of the 16th President of the United States, Abraham Lincoln.

This complete dollar coin series, however, honors all of the former US Presidents with four annual strikes released as part of it featuring a portrait of the specific individual on the obverse. The coins are released in the order in which the person served in office with the first strike appearing in 2007 as the George Washington Presidential $1 Coin.

The 2010 Presidential $1 Coins included the following strikes:

  • Millard Fillmore Presidential $1 Coin – Honoring the thirteenth President of the United States who served from July 9, 1850 – March 4, 1853, this strike was released by the US Mint on February 18, 2010.
  • Franklin Pierce Presidential $1 Coin – This strike honors the fourteenth US President who was in office from March 4, 1853 – March 4, 1857. The US Mint issued this coin on May 20, 2010.
  • James Buchanan Presidential $1 Coin – The US Mint released this coin into circulation on August 19, 2010 to honor the fifteenth chief executive who served from March 4, 1857 – March 4, 1861.
  • Abraham Lincoln Presidential $1 Coin – Struck to honor the sixteenth President of the United States whose tenure ran from March 4, 1861 – April 15, 1865, the US Mint released this coin into circulation on November 18, 2010.

First Spouse Gold Coins were also authorized by the same Act that directed the Mint to strike the Presidential $1 coin series. These spouse coins honor the wives of the former Presidents of the United States.


San Francisco Mint (S)
Proof Strike
Philadelphia Mint (P) Business Strike
Mint (D) Business Strike
Millard Fillmore $1 Coin
Franklin Pierce $1 Coin
James Buchanan $1 Coin
Abraham Lincoln $1 Coin

Previous post:

Next post: