Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park Silver Uncirculated Coin

in 2020 National Park Coins

The Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park Silver Uncirculated Coin will be released by the US Mint in 2020 as the fourth strike that year of the America the Beautiful Five Ounce Silver Uncirculated Coin™ Program. Shown on the reverse of the silver bullion coin will be a design emblematic of Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park found in the state of Vermont. As of this posting, a release date for the coin was not known.

Like other strikes of the series, this one will be composed of five ounces of .999 fine silver with a diameter of three inches. The US Mint produces this series under the authority granted the Secretary of the Treasury in 31 U.S.C. §5111(a) (3) to mint and sell items of numismatic interest.

They are actually considered the collector grade versions of the Mint’s America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coin™ Program which are also struck from five ounces of the precious metal. Both series take their designs from yet a third US Mint series known as the America the Beautiful Quarters®.

That includes an obverse portrait of George Washington by John Flanagan seen on circulating quarter dollars in one form or another since 1932. Surrounding the image of the first President of the United States will be the inscriptions of UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, LIBERTY, IN GOD WE TRUST and QUARTER DOLLAR.

The reverse will include the aforementioned design emblematic of the national historical park. Also shown on the reverse should be the inscriptions of MARSH-BILLINGS-ROCKEFELLER, VERMONT, 2020 and E PLURIBUS UNUM.

Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park of Vermont

The United States Congress established the Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park on August 26, 1992 in the state of Vermont. It was created at the location where Frederick Billings established a progressive dairy farm as well as a managed forest with land purchased from failing farms in the area.

The park itself is named after three previous owners of the site – George Perkins Marsh, Frederick Billings and Laurence and Mary French Rockefeller.

Previous post:

Next post: