2016 First Spouse Gold Coins

The 2016 First Spouse Gold Coins will likely mark the final year for the series of 24-karat strikes from the US Mint honoring the spouses of the former Presidents of the United States.

These coins were authorized by the Presidential $1 Coin Act (Public Law 109-145) along with a series of circulating coins to honor the Presidents themselves. The Presidential strikes are released at a rate of four per year in the order upon which the President served.

The Spouse coins are linked to that same schedule and are issued by the Mint in the same year in which the former President is honored. However, in order for a President to be honored, they must be deceased for at least two years before they can be included in the program.

As such, with the 36th President of the United States, Lyndon Johnson honored in the 2015 releases along the Lady Bird Johnson First Spouse Coin that same year, that only leaves three known Presidents, and possibly their spouses, to be featured on strikes in 2016 – Richard M. Nixon, Gerald Ford and Ronald Reagan.

Thus, unless Betty Ford and/or Nancy Reagan pass away before that year, it is likely that only Patricia Nixon will be featured in the 2016 First Spouse Coins.

2016 will only see one First Spouse Gold Coin released for sure and it will honor Patricia Ryan "Pat" Nixon, wife of Richard Nixon. Additional strikes may be added to the series if the requirements set forth in the authorizing legislation explained above are met.

Included on the obverse of each coin will be a portrait of the wife of the former President. The reverse will showcase a scene from that person’s life.

Each coin is struck from 1/2 ounce of .9999 fine gold to either proof or uncirculated condition by the US Mint.

Previous post:

Next post: