Australian Kangaroo Gold Bullion Coin

in Bullion Coins

The Australian Kangaroo Gold Bullion Coin can trace its start back to 1987 when the Perth Mint of Australia first introduced the "Australian Nugget" series in both a one ounce and one-half ounce 99.99% fine gold coin. Since then, the series has undergone some changes, but it remains one of the most popular gold bullion products of the world.

Australian Koala Gold Bullion Coin

Whereas the first couple of years in the program saw reverse designs featuring famous gold nuggets (hence the name of the series), the 1990 strike was the first to contain an image of a kangaroo. Designs continued to alter over the next several years at times even containing images of wallabies and wallaroos. Finally, beginning in 2008, the Perth officially renamed the smaller sized strikes in the program to be a part of the newly titled Australian Kangaroo series.

Today, the Australian Kangaroo series features annually changing reverse designs on the ounce and smaller coins featuring the marsupial for which it is named. The larger strikes also showcase a kangaroo, but their design remains static.

Over the years, the Perth has struck several sizes of the coin ranging from 1 kilogram all the way down to 1/20 of an ounce. However, the most popular remain as the ounce, the 1/2 ounce, the 1/4 ounce and the 1/10 ounce with the ounce strike reigning supreme among them.

Shown below is the official mintage of the ounce strikes from the Perth Mint since they were first introduced:

1987 131,264
1988 128,461
1989 189,321
1990 300,000
1991 130,522
1992 111,922
1993 300,000
1994 135,876
1995 165,015
1996 286,737
1997 231,013
1998 143,623
1999 127,051
2000 65,556
2001 31,206
2002 44,168
2003 46,554
2004 61,278
2005 68,428
2006 49,991
2007 46,811
2008 63,419
2009 298,012

Previous post:

Next post: